Desert Theatre League
Join Us on Facebook

2017 Scholarship Winners

This year's scholarship winners are Laurel Bollard, a senior at Shadow Hills High School, and Constantina Karalis, a senior at Palm Desert High School.



 LAUREL BOLLARD just recently graduated third in her class from Shadow Hills High School along with being heavily involved in the band program and of course the theatre department. Throughout her years in the valley, Laurel participated in 13 shows, 4 being involved with Shadow Hills and 5 performed at the McCallum Theatre with Childrens Playtime Productions. Some of Laurel's credits include: South Pacific, The Little Mermaid Jr., A Midsummer Nights’ Dream, Cinderella, Seussical Jr., Shrek Jr., and Beauty and the Beast. She was also seen this summer in the 2017 Jimmy Awards in New York City as the nominee representing the Lucie Arnaz, where she performed on Broadway! Laurel has also been involved with DTL for the last three years having been nominated for her performances in A Midsummer Nights’ Dream, in which she won the Award for Best Actress, Cinderella, and Beauty and the Beast. She now attends Cal State University Fullerton as a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Musical Theatre, starting a journey to pursue her dreams of Broadway. Laurel would like to thank her directors Chuck Balgenorth, Richard DeHaven, Sharon Deady, Paul Bluto, and of course the Desert Theatre League for their support in her dreams.



CONSTANTINA B. KARALIS is a seventeen-year-old artist, that is currently attending the University of California Santa Barbara. She has a dancing background in various genres of dance, including belly dancing, ballroom dancing, traditional Greek dancing and ballet. This will be her tenth-year dancing ballet, with nine of those years being spent at her home, Starlight Dance Center! Having moved to the United States from Greece at a young age, she claims that dance was her only mode of expression as at the time she did not speak a single word of English. Some of her greatest achievements include attending the American Ballet Theatre Summer intensive, having of course auditioned for the spot, and also receiving a scholarship to attend a contemporary dance intensive through Open Call. She has had several Desert Theatre League Nominations throughout her dance career and is extremely blessed to be part of such a loving and caring community that not only promotes the arts, but the artists themselves. She wishes to spread the love of dance by either being onstage or sharing it with those around her through the art of teaching. Constantina is an aspiring artist that will forever be grateful for Desert Theatre League and all that it encompasses.